Allstate Chargebacks?

Love2Golf12

I am a licensed sales producer with an allstate agency. I am being told that to avoid an auto chargeback my customer has to 1)buy the policy and keep it for 6 months, 2) renew and keep it for another 6 months, 3) renew again. Is this how it works with allstate or is this an issue with the principal agent? I just had a customer do full pay for $1,300 on 2 autos. So, Allstate has their money. Why am I still on the hook, worrying if I'm going to keep my commission? Realistically, this guy could be in month 11, having paid well over $2,200 in premium, and if he switches I don't get a damn dime. Allstate = $2,200, me = $0. I could see if he left within 6 months, but to keep it a full year and renew twice to pay commission seems a bit ridiculous.

The agent is just covering his rear-end in case you write a policy and the customer cancels within the first policy period. In a hypothetical situation, a 6 month auto policy has a $1,000 premium and a 12 month home policy has a $1,000 premium. The agent earns 10% commission on both (some less, some more, etc.). You earn 5% commission or whatever the agent is paying you.

On the auto policy, the agent earns $100 and pays you $50. If the customer cancels within the policy period, the agent is charged back the unearned premium. If the customer cancelled within the first month, the agent would lose his $100 and would therefore charge you back for the $50 he paid you.