How to Get into Groups...

Bruce,
You make an excellent point!

It's funny you post this. I just picked up a couple new groups that I am going to use this strategy with in their zip codes.

Thanks

I think the paragraph I bolded is important. The two sentences/statements seem to run against each other.

I think a decent approach with a 30 EE business owner is to first understand that there are only 4 things that matter to him/her when making business decisions (like hiring you) and to make certain your conversation/pitch is always framed by them:

1. How do I improve service to my customers?
2. How can I increase my sales?
3. How do I lower my expenses?
4. How can I increase my profitability?

Nearly every agent who calls Mr X Company on the phone (or sees him in person) will lead with:

"Mr, X, I have saved some firms in your area a lot of money and I'd like to do the same for you..."

One different, attention-getting pitch might be:

"Mr X, as a small business owner myself, I understand delivering outstanding service to a growing client base on a cost-effective, profitable basis is your objective.I'd like to ask you just one question..... What is your biggest problem with your health plan?"

Whatever the response, your reply is, "I understand. Help is on the way."

Make the appointment.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I perferably go through PEOs that offer a PEO rate or leveraged buying model. You can normally achieve a better rate, most carriers that offer PEO rates, will geo target areas around the state where they want to obtain a greater market share, of course you target your efforts in those markets where you beat the pants off competition using standard rates, of course the incumbent.