Question about changing beneficiaries

affirmwealth

Expert
I'm an agent, but this question is more of a general beneficiary question that will be educational for me in case I come across this again in the future.

My cousin's father passed away last week, and he attended the funeral over the weekend. This morning, he tells me that the funeral was a big mess because his father's girlfriend and her daughter changed the life insurance policy beneficiaries to their names last January, removing him and his brother.

So he said the insurance company told him he had to file a document to contest it, because otherwise the insurance company was going to pay out to the girlfriend and her mother this morning.

I have several questions about this. My cousin says that last January, his father was very ill, and he was also illiterate. He said he thinks the girlfriend's daughter got all the information from her mother, and then took it upon herself to change the policy.

How can this happen? How can this be prevented?

File the document they told you about. Collect any type of medical records showing the Owner's impairment at the time the Bene was changed and submit that as well. Even get notarized statements from other family members or his friends who will confirm his impaired state at the time. Also collect the most recent signature of his you can find for them to compare to what was on the form.

The carrier can inspect signatures and look at medical records and anything else you submit to determine if the forms were submitted fraudulently.