Advice from the Pros please!

M

Macdaddy

Hi guys,

I was licensed earlier this year in L&H and am ready to start building my business, however, I really need some guidance on which direction I should start.

I have a master general agent (thru a friend) that will allow me to sign under him to start out my life contracts of 110%-130% on avg, which from my research is pretty good.

Both my freind and the MGA do not live in my area, so I have a delimma in gaining the hands one experiential training that I need to learn the ins and outs of the business. I have a lengthy history in sales and sales mgmt, but what I lack is the experience and education in selling insurance products. I also have extensive experience in selling thru the internet.

My main questions are:

1. What do I need to do to obtian the needed education and experience. I am willing to pay if needed. Do I need to sign on with one of the big firms for 6 months to access thier training?

2. What is best avenue to start out in? Using Health Ins. to establish clients? Mortgate Protection? Concentrate on the Senior Market?

3. Is it best to work on just one type of insurance like life before gaining the experience in another, like health?

If you guys were to start all over today and do things different, what would you do if you were me?

My intermmediate goals are to build either an agency or a Finacial planning practice.

The Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area. I see you are in Marysville? Years ago I managed stores for Clayton Homes, which is based in Marysville.

Macdaddy said:
The Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area. I see you are in Marysville? Years ago I managed stores for Clayton Homes, which is based in Marysville.