Broker Fees

willing

Expert
I am new to Insurance and am looking to go independant right off the bat. I like the idea of offering my clients options, and the company that I was planning to work for has much more stringant underwriting!

Anyhow.

I was curious as to how Broker's charge their Clients? Is it usually a one time deal, a renewal or annual type situaton?

FYI, I am looking to start up in Nor Cal and am looking to write mostly Life policies, although I woudn't mind writing Auto and Home either.

Any such advice would be awesomeness.

I am new to Insurance and am looking to go independant right off the bat. I like the idea of offering my clients options, and the company that I was planning to work for has much more stringant underwriting!

Anyhow.

I was curious as to how Broker's charge their Clients? Is it usually a one time deal, a renewal or annual type situaton?

FYI, I am looking to start up in Nor Cal and am looking to write mostly Life policies, although I woudn't mind writing Auto and Home either.

Any such advice would be awesomeness.

Agents should not be charging clients. Companies pay you a commission.

Hope this was awesome..

I have never heard of anyone adding a broker fee to a Life policy, I dont think that is even legal......

I believe in Cali, you can add a broker fee to a auto, but not a home....

Sounds like you are in it for for the cash and not to help people

I have never heard of anyone adding a broker fee to a Life policy, I dont think that is even legal......

I don't do it for free. If I won the lotto today I would start shutting down my business tomorrow.

Yes, I understand that in CA Life Agents cannot charge Broker fees.
I was actually referring to Auto and Home policies. Is it an upfront fee or is the fee worked into the Monthly Premium?

I am in NorCal, I don't know about charging a broker fee for life, but for P/C it's common, average is anywhere from $100-300 per each new business policy, done ONCE at the time of issuing.