i was offered

jeremyw81

I was offered a job with aon corporation a office out of ohio here. They want me to do the ride along with a a agent then if i like it send me to chicago for 2 weeks. I have no insurance background at all IS THIS A GOOD CAREER MOVE OR BAD. AND CAN ANYONE TELL ME IF THIS IS THE RIGHT COMPANY TO START WITH?

Sounds like an Aflac type contract. I looked into that and did a ride along,which turned into a conversation at a Burger King. He didn't sound to excited about what he was doing and didn't have any appointments set up or just didn't like tag alongs. They are a solid company, but I saw it as a foot soldier captured agent contract with alot of ifs and no salary. I figure a captured agent contract should at least have base salary instead of just benefits and incentives. You do get some existing business and affiliation with BBB member lists. If you have a base salary and traditional products they are an old established company. Clement Stone, the founder, died at 100+ years old, a few years back. I partied with his grandaughter 20 years ago. Boy was she spoiled by old grand pappy.

Last edited:
Sounds like Combined Insurance. It's about as easy to go to work for them as it is to go to work selling cars. There are several threads about them in the archives. They are a revolving door and are always hiring. I know in my area, every time I update my resume on Monster and Careerbuilder, I get an email from them, and sometimes a call.

They do have pretty good training and will train you to get your license. But a lot of the training is psychological "Positive Mental Attitude" stuff, b/c the man who started the company, W. Clement Stone was a pioneer with that.