Insurance for a Student in California

Goozzi

Hello everyone, I'm new to this website, and the whole topic of insurance in United States. I came to US three years ago, I am a legal resident, an student, and a part time worker, 23 years old, with no serious condition. I have not had any health insurance during the past 3 years, but because of Obamacare, I guess I have to buy a new one till the end of the month.
Now, I am totally lost since I don't know much about the rules in this country, and I'm just starting to learn about it. Firstly, my parents do not live with me here, so I can't go under a family insurance. I have to get an individual insurance. My income is less than $10,000 a year, and I mostly live by financial aid and loans from school. I needed to know what insurance companies in CA (Los Angeles) offer affordable health insurance for a guy with my situation?! I know about Covered California, and the deadline is tomorrow...do you think that is the best I can find?!
Any help/suggestion would be much appreciated. :)
(I also suffer from deviated septum, and I know most insurance companies cover the expenses for that, so if I could get a reliable health insurance that would cover the expenses of a possible surgery in the future would be great!)

At your income level you are going to likely be eligible for Medi-Cal (California Medicaid) which would be at no premium cost to you (below 139% Federal Poverty Level).

If you are eligible for Medi-Cal then you are not eligible to receive subsidy help should you choose to purchase private health insurance on top of or instead of Medi-Cal. Just be aware of that.

Your best bet would be to contact Covered CA by phone or submit an online application for coverage and let them determine where you fit (they have the final say when it comes to Medi-Cal or subsidy coverage).