Is the Transamerica IUL bad?

Ghost

Expert
Good morning, I'm actually an agent with WFG. I'm not here to discuss about the business model and recruiting, I have a legitimate question: is the Transamerica IUL that we offer bad? I have 3 scenarios from a family I did policies with: a dad and his two small children.

When I sat down with him, he had a WRL (what is now Transamerica) policy that had $4,500 saved, he was contributing, I believe, $210 a month and the minimum no lapse was $190, very badly written. So we did a 1035 on it, I made him increase his premium to $290 a month with $250,000 in coverage and a minimum no lapse at 210. Since he got the policy with me, in about two years, his cash value doubled to $9,500.

He has two kids: a daughter that turned 4 on June 1st and a son who I believe is now 8 years old. The total premium contributed per child, since they started the policy on September of 2017 is $2,000 and in their cash value there's $1,200.

Can anybody explain to me what is wrong with this? With WFG I do have options with other companies through Crump, plus Pac and Nationwide.

Thanks

You left out age and health/underwriting.

How much additional term does he have? In my view, he's still grossly underinsured for total protection.

I bet you could still increase premiums up to the MEC guidelines and improve the performance of the policy.

That's not a company or policy issue.

That's an agent issue.

You left out age and health/underwriting.

How much additional term does he have? In my view, he's still grossly underinsured for total protection.

I bet you could still increase premiums up to the MEC guidelines and improve the performance of the policy.

That's not a company or policy issue.

That's an agent issue.