It's Tax Time! What is Deductable

Cypher1

Hello All,

Most things are obvious as far as operating expenses, but as a new agent I have a couple questions. The initial cost of getting licensed (Online school, testing, finger printing, license fees) is that all deductable? I am sure E and O is ok to write off. Also cost for CE. Anything else I might be missing?

Thanks in advance!

Hello All,

Most things are obvious as far as operating expenses, but as a new agent I have a couple questions. The initial cost of getting licensed (Online school, testing, finger printing, license fees) is that all deductable? I am sure E and O is ok to write off. Also cost for CE. Anything else I might be missing?

Thanks in advance!

I sure hope Vegas is.

Do you have a home office? A true office, not the guest room? I write mine off. My last Prostate exam, I mean audit, they were only interested in my meals & entertainment and mileage.

have an office I pay for so no home office deduction for me. I don't do a lot of meals or gifts, just a handful.

I sure hope Vegas is.

Do you have a home office? A true office, not the guest room? I write mine off. My last Prostate exam, I mean audit, they were only interested in my meals & entertainment and mileage.

I really don't write of meals or entertainment but I do write off mileage. What I do is everyday is when I run an appt I write down at the bottom of my scheduler for that day how many miles I drove. Would that suffice? Or do they want to know more?

I really don't write of meals or entertainment but I do write off mileage. What I do is everyday is when I run an appt I write down at the bottom of my scheduler for that day how many miles I drove. Would that suffice? Or do they want to know more?

They like that. They prefer a driving log. It is a fine line between giving them enough and giving them to much.

They like that. They prefer a driving log. It is a fine line between giving them enough and giving them to much.