Pls Help Me Decide Between Guardian and UC Policy

ashishnarang

Hi all,

I was just approved for both Guardian and UC. I am an emergency medicine resident graduating in a few days and moving to Houston for a job in an ER.

i have hypertension and hypothyroidism. i am 32 years old. there are no exclusions in the policy. please see attached UC and Guardian policy proposals. again, i have been approved and these are the final figures.

the guardian agent says guardian is the best. i am getting a 10% disc with them. UC is giving 15% thru AMA, and also they said if I get DI thru them, UC will give me the preferred best rate for term life 30 year, $3M, which is a product i also want.

any suggestions on which to go with will be appreciated. the guardian agent is working on their term life policy, so i have not seen those figures. he says UC has a lower DCI rating or something. i am not a financial person, and this stuff is confusing i thank you in advance for your input.

Attachments

• guardian - anon.pdf
    561.3 KB · Views: 14
  • UC 3 mill term anon.pdf
    90.3 KB · Views: 7
  • UC ANON.pdf
    1.6 MB · Views: 12
Guardian does have the best contract and best definition of disability. Disability is not like life insurance where a claim is paid when you die and you can only be dead or not dead. Disability insurance all comes down to the policy's definitions and you generally get what you pay for. The agent for Union Central will try to compete on price and the agent for Guardian will no doubt compete on Guardian having the best contract and highest financial rating (A++) and UC only having an A rating. The illustrations you posted also have two different benefit maximums, so it's not really comparing apples-to-apples.

Both Union Central and Guardian aren't going to be that competitive on life insurance. If we assume you qualify for the best risk class (Preferred Plus) with all companies, the rates look like this:

20-year guarantee
Banner Life - $1,145/year