Question About my Mentor

kauri

I work with my wife uncle who runs his own independent insurance agency the agency is about 27 years old. My problem or issue is he's trying to groom me to take over his book of business which I don't have an issue with that at all. I have about 2 years of P&C experience. My issue is after 27 years in business he has only about 300 policies on his book which is a combination of Home, Auto, Business and I think Health. He doesn't market he says he only write about 10-12 new policies a month all of his clients are through referrals. When I submit new business he claims he can't remember what commission the carriers are paying for home insurance because he focus on Business insurance so their is always a fight their between the two of us. My issues is he wants me to hand out flyers because it's cheap just to get the name back out their. His way of generating business has to be some of the worst ways I have ever heard of he tells me to attend car auctions and whoever wins the bid to talk with them about car insurance then after that he says "well they are not going to keep the insurance for log so be prepared for the charge back". At this point I'm looking into starting my own agency because my so-called mentor is horrible and so stuck in his ways.

Am I expecting to much from someone that has been in the business for over 25 years. Is all mentors like this or my wife uncle doesn't know what he's doing?