• Do you have any victories you'd like to share for the month of May? Help us celebrate others by posting here.

Terrified of Cold Calling!

Moshka

Hi there. I'm new to the insurance business, well not exactly new. I just got my license last August, but before that I have always helped out my wife who has been in insurance for quite some time. Let me tell you honestly that I am terrified of cold calling. I find that people can be very rude and closedminded that I often find myself disgusted at the way they act.

I've talked to my wife about it and she has had some tips to offer, including not taking it personally and not being shy. She also says not to think about it too much because it shows in your voice. It would help too if you have a script. And most importantly, move on with your life. If a call ends badly, then pick up the pieces and move on. Don't brood over it.

I was wondering if you guys, especially those who are quite shy like I am, have any more tips on how to get over this. I know a lot of people but I also know that you just can't rely on friends and acquaintances to make a sale.

Help!:swoon:

I would advise you check out salespractice.com, it's a forum devoted to everything sales related.

Also, I've found that many guys who are shy, simply have low self esteem, this won't be true for everyone, but it's true enough.

Read some Brian Tracy, Zig Ziglar, get on a daily mailing list for motivational quotes and that will be a good start you to get motivated.

Also, think about it like this:

As a guy, if you're in a bar and see some hot girl you'd like to buy a drink, are you gonna sit back and do nothing out of a fear of rejection? You'll never get far in life that way.

Everyone fears rejection a little bit, simply part of our nature. But if it takes 3 hours of cold calling a day, to write one $500 commish deal, don't you think it would be worth it?

I know my posts don't reflect it, but I've been scared to cold-call too.