What to Do with my VUL.

guest1234

Hello all,

I have had a $100K Ameritas VUL for about 20 years (I'm now 48), and it has a cash value of about $14,000. I haven't put any payments into it for over ten years, but I have also taken a couple loans out against it since that time. So it hasn't grown too much. These days, I have a loan out against it which now has a balance of roughly the same amount ($14K).

For the first time in many years, Ameritas is now asking me to replenish the account to the tune of $1,200 in order to keep the policy active, and then continue to pay in about the same amount each year, to pay for the insurance and principal (I presume).

I am a novice at all this, and the friend that sold it to me 20 years ago is no longer in the insurance biz. I'm thinking I should just let it lapse, but she thinks I should keep it.

So now I'm wondering what some other experts out there might think.

Some additional details about my situation:
(a) I also own a 10 yr term life insurance policy with $1 million death benefit -- term is up in 5 yrs, and my plan is to renew at that point.
(b) I have a Roth 401(k) which I haven't funded in years, but which I have had minor success with some investments (worth about $15K).
(c) I have a gov't retirement plan (from a prior job) that I can't touch until 2020, worth about $125K today.
(d) My net worth is about $1 million, but most of that is from equity in properties and a strong, successful business.
(e) Take home income is about $120K per year -- self-employed.
(f) I'm healthy and relatively fit, but have a family history of heart disease and diabetes; no cancer in my family.
(g) My cholesterol is slightly on the high side, but low blood pressure.
(h) Married (she stays at home), one teenage son (probably going to take over the business).