Advice for a Case

smokin goose

Guru
1000 Post Club
Kentucky
I went on a cancer appointment last night and the conversation turned to retirement.

The guy is 55. He plans on retiring in 5 years and wants a steady flow of income. We started talking about annuities.

He has between 15k and 50k that he is interested in putting in an annuity. He is very conservative. No risky investments.

He's got 15k in a bank account drawing 0.25% interest. I don't know where the rest of his savings are.

He also said he'll have over 200k in his 401k by age 59 1/2.

He is single and doesn't have any kids if that makes a difference.

I explained to him that I'm just getting started in learning the ins and outs of annuities and would help him when I get more comfortable that I'm doing the right thing.

Any advice or suggestions?

It sounds like the client is looking for the highest income payout available to him for retirement. If that is the case, and you are in KY, based on the above scenario...Forethought has a good product with a 25% bonus on income and 5% compounding for 10 years.

I went on a cancer appointment last night and the conversation turned to retirement.

The guy is 55. He plans on retiring in 5 years and wants a steady flow of income. We started talking about annuities.

He has between 15k and 50k that he is interested in putting in an annuity. He is very conservative. No risky investments.

He's got 15k in a bank account drawing 0.25% interest. I don't know where the rest of his savings are.

He also said he'll have over 200k in his 401k by age 59 1/2.

He is single and doesn't have any kids if that makes a difference.

I explained to him that I'm just getting started in learning the ins and outs of annuities and would help him when I get more comfortable that I'm doing the right thing.

Any advice or suggestions?

How much income does he need in 5 yrs?