Anyone else from Seattle WA Area?

Mishka

I am just getting started in the insurance field, would love to hear how others are doing in the Seattle area or WA state. Any reccomendations on best companies to talk to? Right now I am licensed for life and disability and considering selling supplemental. Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Last edited:
I'm a bit north of Seattle. Are you just starting out? Have you sold any insurance before? Are you planning to go independent or become a captive agent?

Never sold insurance before (been in Real Estate for Many years though, so not new to sales). I am affiliated with the duck, and let's just say it is not what I expected. (I have read enough posts to hear the collective Duh!!) I am thinking I should have done more research before going there and so I am doing the research now! Found this site and it looked like a good place to start. They say I can sell other products that are not offered by the duck - but does that mean I am captive? It also sounds like I shouldn't try to go independent til I get some experience? Like I said, I am very new to insurance world and looking for some guidance!

I would say since you're new to insurance, consider going captive with a solid life company. I started with NYL and even though I left a decade ago, I would strongly reccommend you talk to their office (Bellevue). They have had stable local management for the last decade (unfortunately, I was on my way out, too late for me, an old dog) and it would be a good place for a newby.

Also check with Naifa groups for other places. AFLAC is not regarded as anything more than a churn and burn place that you won't be working at in 6 months. Find a place where you can get a good solid insurance education to solidify your career. If you really want to make this work, find a career agency where you can learn while you earn.