Can Social Workers Enroll Eligibles in MAPDs, MAs, And/or PDPs?

InsuranceAgt

I'm a licensed agent, with completed 2012 Medicare certifications for the upcoming AEP. Local residents of two rural towns in my area have told me that social workers and/or employees at the local hospitals have been enrolling eligible beneficiaries in MAs, MAPDs, and PDPs. For example, one individual I presented to last AEP told me that he had been working with a social worker whom he said was "steering him" toward the plan I presented. During our meeting he decided that the plan I presented would not only be the best choice for his mother (for whom he had POA), but also for himself, as he was also an eligible beneficiary. He wanted to meet again with his social worker before enrolling. Subsequent to our meeting, the individual enrolled himself and his mother via that social worker instead of calling me, or returning the enrollment forms I left with him. This happened with a few other beneficiaries I presented to as well last season. Having spent the AEP last year working in this very geographically spread-out, sparsely populated rural area, this was a very frustrating thing, given not only our time and investment as agents, acting in full compliance, but also given the additional time and dollars spent to travel and service a rural market like this.