Commission Split Renegotiation

Hello All. I was hoping for some thoughts from the community. I have been a 1099 agent for a semi-captive agent 8 years. All years 100% commission. I will try not make this initial post to long as to turn off those with ADD like myself..My current splits are 70/50. Here is my quick question.

I work autonomously from our agency, no access to leads, service a vast majority of my own clients (agency has no CSR) . I want to grow faster, however at the splits I find it hard to go all in when 50% of my renewal business is gone without any marketing and also no CSR work done on my back end. I proposed recently to the owner a win win for him, no risk. Simply if I hit a certain amount of DWP per month then he pay half of my marketing expenses up to a reasonable amount. Instead he decided to make it complicated by saying he wanted it based on household relationships so he could get his relationship bonus.

So back to the drawing board, my thoughts for my next proposal were simple, create a new producer number for me in the system, as it can be done. All of my previous written policies remain at the 50% commission split but all future business I write will go to the new producer number paid at 80/80.

Any thoughts? Snide, helpful, insightful, skeptical, reasonable any and all are welcomed with open mind!

One of two things is the case: Either you're better off with him at 70/50 or it's time to walk. At 80/80 the guy is taking risk and does have overhead to cover without much of a margin. Why not go out on your own and get the 100%?

I only know what you put here, but at 70/50 that seems pretty fair.

One of two things is the case: Either you're better off with him at 70/50 or it's time to walk. At 80/80 the guy is taking risk and does have overhead to cover without much of a margin. Why not go out on your own and get the 100%?

I only know what you put here, but at 70/50 that seems pretty fair.