Medicare

TheSalesWolf

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Hey Eveyone, stumbled upon your forum here and though I would join.
I've been doing individual health insurance for about 5 years now and really would like to start selling some supplemental business as well.

I have exactly 0 knowledge of the supplemental business and any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

The best place to start is by going to the Medicare website www.medicare.gov and downloading the "Choosing A Medicare Supplement Plan" book, reading it, then finding a few insurance companies in your area that provide Medicare Supplement (Medigap) Plans.

Because they are Federally mandated, they will be the same, across the board, only difference being, some companies will price certain plans for less. This is, just like health insurance, based on their claims experience for that plan. Some companies will sell only a few plans, above A and B, while others will sell most of the plans offered.

If possible, meet or speak to DM's for each company, and get a feel for how you should market their product. I would recommend doing informational seminars at Public Libraries, Community Centers and Assisted Living Facilities. When you do these seminars, DO NOT GET COMPANY OR PRODUCT SPECIFIC. Basically pick out six or seven key pages from the book (which I guarantee you most Medicare beneficiaries have not read or/nor did not understand) and explain it to them, in real, every day language. Have a sign in sheet at each seminar (no longer than 1 hour, plus 20 minutes for Q&A), then follow up with those that provided names and contact numbers.

I would also suggest you meet/call ElderCare Attorneys, and "pick their brain" as to what they've experienced in the past 5 years or so. You are not there to sell their clients, but, moreso, to get insightful information as to the "real world" of Medicare.

SalesWolf,