New agent

Hello all.

I am brand spanking new to the insurance biz so looking for a little insight. I am a lawyer by trade, and will continue to work my full time job as a corporate attorney for an energy company. I also run private practice from my home office, from which i make almost no money.
Anyway, I thought I'd give insurance sales a try as I just prefer to work for myself (i had a successful private practice for 5 years before selling out).
ANYWHO, I have been looking around for opportunities to get started. Naturally, I have been contacted by several psuedo-scam artists dressed as insurance company's. I dont want to hurt anyone's feelings (NAA, United American, American Income Life, Etc.) but those are not for me... In my limited experience, paying for a job is a generally bad idea.

I have an interview with Physician's Mutual this week, they seem ok, and are willing to work with me not wanting to work full time yet. Hopefully, It will take off and I can get out on my own again and stop suckling the corporate teet for my well being.

Any input on good companies to work for, Physicians (if they are ok or not) and how to drum up business is good for starters...

I think Physicians is generally considered to be a good company but if I'm not mistaken they have had several big rate increases in recent years. Perhaps someone here can provide more specific information.

What market do you want to be in? There are several different markets such as senior, health,group. The right company for one product line may be a bad company for another such as Physician's has had some rate increases with their med. supps but has a good reputation in the long term care market as well as some health I believe.