New to the Forum.

Broker22

Expert
Hello, my first time posting. I have been following some of the information on this forum. It has been very insightful. I have 22 years experience but tend to do things the "old way" (just stopped using paper apps recently) .Now, I am considering using Quotit. They told me for purposes of A.C.A I would be considered a "Web Broker". However a carrier rep told me only einsurance and the like are "web-brokers" However in the recently released 12 page document (posted on this site last week ) . Top of page 8 seems to say that if the consumer accesses your site and can enroll from there you are considered a "web broker". My concern is that "web-brokers" have a different set of mandates to follow. Maybe I should just stay as a "Traditional Broker." My other concern is that there are/will be so many of these "web-brokers" I will be investing in something with little R.O.I. Any thoughts?

Quotit and Norvax are valuable tools for the agent to have. I use Quotit, but Norvax is just as good. Some people on this forum have recently signed up, and worked out a deal where the initial fee is waived and the monthly fee is discounted 20% or so. Full cost is about $79 monthly, and the first sale or two will bring in $79 monthly, so it pays for itself quickly. It will also save you a lot of time. After you've used it for a while you'll never go back to manually quoting or using various carrier's quoting capabilities.

This is just my opinion...., but I believe that agents who utilize Quotit or Norvax will be considered "web brokers" per CMS guidelines. Personally, this is the way I think I would prefer it. If using Quotit or Norvax didn't make me a web broker, I probably would use the "direct to the carrier" way. I think the Exchange will probably be a "train wreck" as Senator Baucus said, and I don't want them submitting my applications to the carrier, nor being the entity that tells the carrier who gets the commission.

Just my 2 cents.