What Happens When a Health Plan Has No Limits? An Acupuncturist Earns $677 a Session.

First, seems a bit surprising, even for a govt entity, to have carte blanche with taxpayer dollars.

Second, when did Pro Publica become a bastion of truth?

Third, what does Last Dollar have to say about this?

somarco said:

First, seems a bit surprising, even for a govt entity, to have carte blanche with taxpayer dollars.

I work as a 1099 occastionally for a TPA. Last year I worked on a big project for retired schoolteachers in NJ.regarding their retiree benefits. They have it made there (and I hear CT and some other States do, too) where they even get IRMAA reimbursed.

Second, when did Pro Publica become a bastion of truth?

I just discovered Pro Publica, so I don't know.

Third, what does Last Dollar have to say about this?

He's probably at lunch right now, it's 12:30pm his time.

Article is a bit misleading. The problem is not the fact that the health plan has no limits, that is a symptom. This is a example of elected officials pandering to a union, using public monies. They have no financial skin in the game.

somarco said:

I was going to mention to @Northeast Agent that they probably have very strong teacher unions there.

Hell, yeah they do (why do think they pay a fortune in property taxes to live there?).

And not to be mean, but it was kinda funny when at the meetings I attended last year they learned their retiree coverage doesn't cover LTC. Know-it-alls thought the skilled nursing in their plans was LTC. The union reps and local legislators came in and pretty much told everyone to shut up; they have no idea how good they still had it compared to others.

Totally entitled and they are trying to contain it.

they learned their retiree coverage doesn't cover LTC. Know-it-alls thought the skilled nursing in their plans was LTC.

Most public school teachers here are covered by the SHBP (State Health Benefit Plan).