Career Path of a Claims Adjuster?

tonysoprano24

Hi, a little background first ...24 year old Finance Major..Graduated in 2009 so didn't really have any job prospects in finance...decided to work in the family business of cell phones for a year and a half and am finally ready to start a career in the field I majored in.

I applied to a few different positions in the banking industry and have an interview for an entry level Claims Adjuster for an insurance company.

I never gave insurance much thought because most of the positions I came across consisted of sales/financial advisers/planning but this position has definitely sparked my interest.

What is a typical career path for a Claims Adjuster? Are the prospects good for advancement? How long does one usually stay in a Claims Adjuster position before moving onto the next step?

Right now even though I mostly work for myself I'm working 70+ hours a week in retail and with Christmas season coming up I will be working 97+ hours a week. Ive been doing this for almost two years and am finally at the point of burning out.

I'm not 21 anymore and gonna be 25 soon so I am looking for "some" work/life balance.

I understand the nature of this particular position is stressful to begin with considering you're dealing with people who are dealing with property loss etc..

I am mostly wondering what kind of career/positions I can bounce into using this entry level position.

Thank you for reading the long post.

I understand your frustration but being 21 years old and possesing life health auto licenses plus my claims adjuster certificate, i will assure you adjusters do not go far as far career path. I do appraising for body shops from time to time, but if i were you try to get a job in insurance company, they pay (50-150) for each appraisal. However, getting into this business and actually knowing how to survive is tough because for this job your college degree has no impact. Let me know what you ended up doing :)