New to Insurance and would like some help

boldest7

Hi all and thanks for reading my post. I am new to insurance and I honestly do not know where to start. I have a cousin who sales insurance from home and she made me very interested in the possibility of doing it mainly because she stated that she makes her own schedule and she says she does pretty well working 15-20 hrs a week ( making 1,500 a week or more) but im starting to think she was just bragging to me lol b/c when I ask her for help she never picks the phone up after leaving her many voicemails ( sorry for the vent session btw)

But I was thinking about getting a life, health, variable annuity license in Georgia since I will be moving there in the next few weeks. I know for sure I can get it but I honestly don't know how I would go about getting a job or finding a broker after that.

One thing that I can say about myself is that I use to work in underwriting and I do love helping people even though I have no sale experience.

To prevent this from being a long drawn out post I will just once again say thanks for any suggestions and I'm sorry I did not give to many details... I really do not know where to start.

Here are a couple of pointers, though I am sure others will jump in and contribute many more.

Start calling and interviewing different brokers and be VERY clear about your expectations of training, and your background. My guess is that it may be tough with no sales experience, but someone on here may correct me. You have underwriting experience which is a big plus. Look around the office, you will see if the people seem happy, how well organized the office is, etc. Go online and check their reviews from customers. After dealing with small businesses for 18 years, I have found that how well reviewed a business is from the public, often reflects how well run it is on the inside. Not always, but almost always.

Good luck.