Out of State marketing

wildcat

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
No. Cal.
I am a California agent writing mostly IFP plans for the blue's. I would like to test the waters in other states, although I am unfamiliar with carriers outside of California.

Any state and company recommendations would be appreciated.

My marketing is mostly calling small business' 1-10 employees, looking for IFP sales.

I am a California agent writing mostly IFP plans for the blue's. I would like to test the waters in other states, although I am unfamiliar with carriers outside of California.

Any state and company recommendations would be appreciated.

My marketing is mostly calling small business' 1-10 employees, looking for IFP sales.

That all depends on what companies you want to sell, where you feel comfortable, and how late you want to work. You can come over here to the east coast and start earlier or you can stay over there in CA and work the AZ, CO, etc. market. I sell in MD, DC, VA, PA and WV and I sell EVERYTHING. Personally, I enjoy MD and VA the best, but that is just me.

If you want to go the route of the cheap insurance agent you can look into the states that offer a nice Blues Commission. VA, SC, TN, etc. Unicare has some nice plans in VA and they are quite cheap. I don't sell based on price along, but that is a course to look into for the future. I'd recommend you pick a state you are interested in and take a month to get appointed with every carrier that you can while you learn the products and then go get em..

I also thought about selling out of California. In fact, I now have a website Your Health Insurance Options.com - low cost health insurance online! that I was going to use to market myself in the foreign lands outside of CA. (It's for sale if anyone has deep pockets).

However, I had conversation with Frank Stastny of YIO fame who pointed out there are SO many prospects in my backyard why bother going out of state. The grass just seems greener elsewhere. It's not.